Grief, Pride & Hope In My Submerged City

Chennai

The Urge To Wander

Its been eerily silent this past week. I normally revel in the quiet of my neighbourhood, but this is the silence of devastation. Of a city knocked to its knees. 

I miss the sounds I whined about. Of engines backfiring in the distance. Of the howling of strays or the keening of koels that shake me from my sleep at dawn. Heck, I even miss the carol singers from the hostel behind our apartment who should have been hard at their practice by now and had us climbing up our walls in frustration. 

Photo courtesy R Senthil Kumar (PTI12_1_2015_000357B) via The Indian Express Photo courtesy R Senthil Kumar (PTI12_1_2015_000357B) via The Indian Express

The deluge was unprecedented. The effects of an extreme El Niño they say, exacerbated by encroachments into water bodies and a dysfunctional drainage system leading to the breaching of a century long record with a vengeance (1218.6mm of rain last month as against a normal of 407.4mm, and an additional 374mm on Dec 1 alone!). Further compounded by the…

View original post 474 more words

Leave a Reply

